No Slave To Friendship

The agonizing over never being close to those who care

Harry Hogg
2 min readNov 11, 2022
Image: Author

I was always pulled by love, beds, and bodies, to a seaport city here, a beach town somewhere, open to a stranger’s arms. Like every sailor, I’ve been tossed, rolled, bowed, and broken by the sea until I’ve become a product of all she demands. The sea is all I know for sure, having been rubbed, rolled, flung, flipped, caressed, and cajoled into believing I’m safe within my knowledge. I never was. Never will be.

Just as love brings no certainty, no surety of heaven, a love of the ocean will never shake her need for the opportunity to bash a romantic head against her rocks.

Some people say they are my friend, it’s not enough to keep me home, or even remain close by. People grow apart. A compass is a small thing to hold in the hand, but in truth, my life has sailed so far out past the tide, it’s now beyond my own far-reaching reach.

I’m content walking the sand, but only for so long.

I wrote letters to friends, I’ll come in three months, or maybe three years. I cannot sit around waiting for death. It’s not something I can be blamed for, my life doesn’t weigh enough at home, it drifts off and floats away.

Keep your hazelnut trees, your flocks, your old-fashioned poetry and tired old shops, stay caught up in all the old trappings.

I will not be a slave to friendship.

Hello, this might be of some interest. If you would like to join Medium as a Member, giving you access to every story I write, and the whole shabang of talented writers on Medium, and you want to join up, read, or earn yourself a few coins writing, please think about using my LINK to become a member. Cost $5. You’ll be gifting me a cup of coffee, and treating yourself to the wonderland of Medium.com💜✍️

--

--

Harry Hogg

Ex Greenpeace, writing since a teenager. Will be writing ‘Lori Tales’ exclusively for JK Talla Publishing in the Spring of 2025